What Are You Thinking? (Psalm 102-104)

May my meditation be pleasing to him,
    for I rejoice in the Lord. Psalm 104:34

There are mornings when I awake with God on my mind and heart. It happened this morning as I awakened to spend the next few minutes praising and petitioning my Lord. Oh the blessings that come when we have our thoughts firmly fixed on the Lord.

This morning our readings lead us to focus our minds on the Lord. For example, Psalm 104 places before us the creative work of God. His creation is beyond my minds ability to comprehend. As I sit here writing to each of you I have such joy in my mind and heart. Oh, how I wish every day was filled with thoughts and meditations on him.

However, the reality is that I sometimes find my mind being led away from thinking about God. How is it brothers and sisters that our thoughts are led away from Jesus? Jesus said, such thoughts arise out of our old nature, (Matthew 15:19). Such thoughts lead us down paths away from God.

Scripture teaches us, when such moments come, we are to “take every thought captive to obey Christ,” (II Cor. 10:5). As Christ followers we have dominion over our old nature. Our thoughts no longer need to be held captive by the flesh, fear, or the forces of Hell. The same God who “made the moon to mark the seasons and the sun to know its time of setting,” (Psalm 104:19) is calling His people to think godly each day.

God’s challenge to us is to seek Him while He may be found (Isa. 55:6). Each morning as you awake God is in the Heavens and He is ready to speak to you. What He has to say is beyond what any mortal man can say or understand on his own.

I promise you that your days will always be better when you begin them with a mind to meditate on Him!!!

Leave a comment