The Truth Be Told (II Peter 2)

16 For we did not follow cleverly devised myths when we made known to you the power and coming of our Lord Jesus Christ, but we were eyewitnesses of his majesty.  II Peter 1:16

Brothers and sisters, how blessed we are in that God led others to tell us the truth about Jesus! Those who told us the truth gave us the truth as is revealed in God’s Word. I am so eternally thankful that God gave the Word, preserved the Word, and delivered the Word into my heart and mind.

I am also thankful that God reveals, in His Word, that there will be those will not tell the truth. According to II Peter 2, these are false teachers who teach falsely for the purpose of exploiting people for their own sinful gain. Without this truth, I might have been led to believe that every Bible teacher is telling the truth. But we find, in our text for today, that there are false teachers in the world.

In our text for the day, the Bible teaches us two things about false teachers. God reveals their end and their evil.

The end of false teachers will come in the judgment fire of Hell, 2:4-9.

Consider with me those who have already died in their sin. According to Scripture they are in chains of gloomy darkness awaiting the final judgment. These are in torment knowing that eternal wrath awaits.

The evil of false teachers reaches to the masses in humanity, 2:10-22.

The Bible reveals that all who follow these teachers will face their same end. The Bible reveals that all who follow these teachers will live blasphemous lives. Such people believe the lie that they are free, but they are in deep bondage. The end of such people is eternally heartbreaking.

Friends, the truth has been told and it is wonderful for those who have come to embrace the knowledge of the truth. But, at the same time, the truth is heartbreaking for all who embrace the lies of false teaching.

As I ponder what I have read, I find myself crying out to God, please keep me in the truth and please empower me to lead others to the truth!!! May God grant this pray to each of us every day!!!

Leave a comment