The Lord is Faithful (II Thessalonians 3)

”But the Lord is faithful. He will establish you and guard you against the evil one.” II Thessalonians 3:3

It is true, but the Lord is faithful. It could happen, but the Lord is faithful. I see it coming, but the Lord is faithful. It’s been here before, but the Lord is faithful.

Brothers and sisters, do you want to know what the “it” is? The “it’s” are the trials, tribulations, and temptations of life.

As Paul wraps up his second letter to this faithful church, he turns his attention, under God’s inspiration, to both prayer and instruction. Paul asks for the church to pray for him, Vs:1-5. His prayer was with clear wisdom as he asked that the gospel would touch the world, that his team would be delivered from wicked people, and that the people’s hearts would be directed always to God’s love and steadfastness.

Paul also instructed the church in the way that they should be living as Christ followers, Vs: 6-15.

In complete honesty I needed to be reminded of the truth that God is faithful. My circumstance is not that I doubt Him. I am certain of who He is and I am committed to Hebrews 10:23 which says, “hold fast your confession of faith.” For me, the “it” caught me off guard and I needed to put up the shield of faith that says, Satan you are a liar and flesh there is no need to fear.

Friend’s God has taught us, whatever state we are in to be content, Phil. 4:11.

Here in II Thessalonians 3 we see the prayer and instruction of God through the writing of a brother who had endured many “It’s.”

Let us, the people of God, follow Paul’s example in taking every thought captive to both obedience and faith in Jesus Christ (II Cor. 10:3-5). When we do we can pray effectively and we can help others to follow Him.

Leave a comment