Its Going To End (Psalm 48-50)

“But despite his assets, mankind will not last…” Psalm 49:2.

This morning the teaching from Psalm 49 gripped my soul. God’s teaching, in this Psalm, offers a strong word to those of us who have possession. The word is of a warning to never place our trust in the possession of this world. When the possessions of this life grip us we travel to a dangerous place. The Psalmist labels this place as”the place of boasting in arrogance,” (49:6).

Here are two startling realities for all who possess wealth:

  1. When death comes a person relinquishes all they have on the earth.

“For when he dies, He will take nothing at all; His wealth will not follow him down,” 49:17.

2. When death comes a person cannot buy their way into Heaven.

“Wealth cannot redeem a person or pay his ransom to God,” 49:7.

Take a moment and reread the above startling realities. Brothers and sisters, when I consider what God has said, I realize how much grace and mercy God has extended into my life. I was born in an impoverished part of the world. But God gave our family wealth. I realize how easily I could have chosen a path to purse the wealth of the world. But it was God who stepped in and changed my life. He redeemed me by the riches of His mercy and the wealth of His righteousness extended through the shedding of His blood for me.

I am not so foolish to think that I am poor in this world because I am very rich in comparison to others around the world. But I do not trust in riches and I do not worship riches. I trust in and worship one greater than all the wealth of the world. His name is Jesus. He has the name above every name and He alone is worthy of all praise.

Trust not in riches but trust in the Redeemer Jesus Christ!

Leave a comment