How is it going? (Galatians 1-3)

Are you so foolish? Having begun by the Spirit, are you now being perfected by[j] the flesh? Galatians 3:3

I love when God reconnects people who have not been together for a long period of time. The conversation usually begins, after a heart-felt greeting, with both people asking how the other person has been and how are things going. For me, personally, I cherish the stories of how God is working in someone’s life.

According to Scripture, the church at Galatia began their journey of faith being birthed into the Kingdom of God, through Jesus Christ and given new life by the Holy Spirit.

Here are a few selected verses from Galatians 1-3:

 who gave himself for our sins to deliver us from the present evil age, according to the will of our God and Father, 1:4

2I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. 2:20 

13 Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us—for it is written, “Cursed is everyone who is hanged on a tree”— 3:13

Oh, what an amazing story of the beginning days in the church at Galatia. But then the story changed. The people were being told that they needed to obey the Law to be right with God. At that point the stories would begin to be about what they had done, instead of what Christ had done.

Paul’s teaching to this church was to correct their error and return them to the truth that it was by faith that they began and it would be by faith and submission to the Holy Spirit that they would continue.

This week, you and I will have opportunity to connect with people we have not seen in a while. The question is, what what will you say? I am looking forward to telling others what God is doing in my life and in the world.

If you are feeling as if you have hit a wall in your journey, it’s time to recall who saved you and how you were effective in the past. I believe, God wants to do a work of spiritual awakening in your life. Still for others, there may be fear as you considered what you will say to others this week. May we allow the Holy Spirit to lead us to walk in victory!

Leave a comment