Set Apart for Service (Numbers 1-2)

46 all those listed were 603,550. Numbers 1:46

In our city there is a very large cemetery with many graves in it. I assume that every grave, in our city cemetery, has some type of marker that identifies at least the name of the person who’s remains are placed in the plot of ground beneath the grave marker. I have been in this cemetery many times. There are names that have very special meaning to me because of my connection with the person in their life-time. However most the markers bear names of people I have no connection with. But for those who know the names there is some-type of connection.

The Old Testament book of Numbers begins at the thirteenth month of the Hebrews journey’s from Egypt. God has given His people all they needed for the journey to the Promised Land. He had given them the Word to govern their lives. He had given them the tabernacle so that worship would be with them. He had given them the ways (laws) in which they were to conduct themselves. He had given them leaders who would direct the way. All that remained was for the people to walk with God forward.

As chapter one opens God directed Moses to choose 12 men to lead with him and then Moses was directed to take a census of all the men who were able to go to war. Those who were ready were 603, 550. The only men who were not counted were the Levites who had the calling to represent the people before God.

Brothers and sisters, it was their time to be counted as people who were set apart to serve.

Now it is time for me to get personal with you:

  1. I wonder what do others think about when your name comes up in conversation?
  2. In what ways are you making a difference in other people’s lives?
  3. What will others say about you when you are gone?

In Numbers one we would have to say that these people were being accounted as those who wanted to follow God. But by the time of the end of Numbers our views will have changed because all of those named except Joshua and Caleb will have died in the wilderness of rebellion.

Let this sink in. I know God has called each of you for a specific purpose. He has saved you for this purpose. He has equipped you for success. Your part and my part is to daily step forward in service to our Great King.

Here are two selected Scriptures from Philippians that bring greater clarity to our study:

27 Only let your manner of life be worthy[h] of the gospel of Christ, so that whether I come and see you or am absent, I may hear of you that you are standing firm in one spirit, with one mind striving side by side for the faith of the gospel, Phil. 1:27

12 Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling, 13 for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure.

1Do all things without grumbling or disputing, 15 that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, 16 holding fast to the word of life, so that in the day of Christ I may be proud that I did not run in vain or labor in vain, Phil. 2:12-16

I leave you with a quote from last Sundays message at JFBC, “What characterized me in the beginning of my journey should no longer characterize me after grace is applied.”

Leave a comment